Has Coronavirus Virus Put Your Car Accident Claim on Hold?

Has COVID-19 put a halt on your car accident claim in some way? Here’s what you can do if you get in an auto accident during the coronavirus pandemic.

Do you think society will ever grind to a halt again like it has in the wake of coronavirus?

We’re in unprecedented territory. And the judicial system loves to operate on precedent.

For the first time ever in Texas history, courts announced on Friday, March 13th that court access and procedures would be restricted during COVID-19.

And since coronavirus may linger until who knows when, no one knows when those restrictions will end.

For now, “essential” cases will continue as normal. Essential cases currently include:

  • Temporary restraining orders
  • Family violence protective orders
  • Criminal magistrate hearings
  • CPS removal hearings

Noticeably missing from the list is civil suits of any kind, including car accident claims.

What Should You Do If You Get in a Car Accident During COVID-19?

Ok. So, it’s completely reasonable the Texas legal system has deemed civil suits to be non-essential.

But that leaves the obvious problem: what if you get in a car accident during this restriction of legal system operations?

For starters, the state is accommodating you. The statute of limitations has been extended to 30 days after the day the Governor’s state of disaster lifts.

Normally, the statute of limitations runs for two years and begins on the date of your car accident.

Now, remember that you have to pay attention to the Governor’s orders. The state of disaster declaration could easily extend if coronavirus doesn’t improve within the current expected time frame.

And, no one actually knows how coronavirus’s effects will actually play out in Texas.

Smart Car Accident Victims Take Action

The worst thing you can do following a car accident is absolutely nothing. And that’s kind of a general rule of life.

You don’t have to act immediately. The statute of limitations for civil suits in Texas runs for 2 years following the date of the accident. Plus, you also have the previously mentioned 30 days after the Governor’s state of disaster order lifts.

At the same time, you’re wise to act as swiftly as you’re able. Get in touch with a law firm you like and trust.

At Mullen & Mullen Law Firm, you get an additional benefit unavailable at most other law firms: delayed billing by the medical system until you win your claim.

That’s a pretty powerful benefit to have during this uncertain time.

You’re wisest to take action because you never know what will come at you in life. This happens, and then ten other things happen, and before you know it, nearly two years have passed since your car accident.

Acting as fast as you can also makes you look good to judges and juries. They feel responsible, honest, and trustworthy people generally act quickly and don’t wait until the last minute.

Acting quickly keeps you within the statute of limitations. And since you get the added benefit of delayed medical billing until you win your case, that’s a ton of stress off your back too!

So if the legal system’s all held up, simply hang tight. Make sure you choose a Dallas personal injury lawyer and file your claim. And let the rest play out as it will.

3 Possible Ways Covid-19 May Affect Your Car Accident Claim

Should You Seek Medical Attention After a Car Accident During Covid-19?

How Coronavirus Could Lead to More Danger on the Road

What to Do if the Police Won’t Respond to Your Crash During COVID-19

Scroll to Top