Personal Injury

What Can You Do If Insurance Co. Denies Your Injury Claim?

Insurers exist to make a profit. Learn what you can do if your injury claim is denied from the attorneys at Mullen & Mullen.
It seems odd they call themselves “insurance” companies, doesn’t it?

One definition says insurance is when “an individual or entity receives financial protection or reimbursement against losses.”

However an insurance company’s goal is to pay you nothing at all or as little as possible. That’s how insurance companies profit.

They’re not in the business of making sure you have financial protection for certain situations and losses. They’re in the business of making money.

And of course, they’ll analyze your situation in depth to see if there’s a way they can limit or eliminate what the law obligates them to pay.

To make sure the law favors them, they lobby Congress and the Senate aggressively. In 2017, they spent the second most on lobbying, right behind pharmaceutical companies: $160.5 million, according to Investopedia.

While it’s […]

By |December 1st, 2020|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

Texas Dog Bite Law: 5 Common Misunderstandings

Can you win money just because a dog bites you? Not so fast. Learn more about dog bite law in Texas from Mullen & Mullen Law Firm.
If a dog bites you, is the owner responsible?

Well, that depends on the facts surrounding your case.

Learn more about dog bite law in Texas and understand some of the basics of how it works so you can protect your own rights and can get the compensation you deserve:

If a strange dog bites me, is the owner responsible?

That really depends. Many Texans believe they’re automatically entitled to compensation by the dog’s owner or their insurance company.

That’s not the case.

Texas’ dog bite law requires you show the dog acted aggressively in the past and that the dog’s owner acted negligently in some way.

Make sure you take pictures of any wounds you receive and gather witness info as soon as you can.

One exception is if the […]

By |November 3rd, 2020|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

$580,000 for Herniated Disc in Plano, TX (Policy Limits Settlement)

Attorney recovers policy limits of $580,000 for lumbar herniated disc injury as a result of a car accident in Plano, TX. Client underwent multiple epidural steroid injections.
Our client was operating a motor vehicle in Plano, Texas traveling westbound on Legacy Drive attempting to cross the intersection at southbound Preston Road with a green light. An inattentive motorist disregarded his red light and caused his automobile to collide with our client per multiple independent witnesses. The Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Report arising from the incident attributed 100% fault to the inattentive motorist.

Comments from Attorney, Shane Mullen: Liability was established early in this case. Our client is grateful that the independent witnesses to the collision stayed at the scene and took the time to let the investigating officer know what they had observed. Motor vehicle accident cases can often turn on people being good Samaritans and volunteering their time to make sure […]

By |August 10th, 2020|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

Survivor of A Head-On SUV Crash, Named 2020 Scholarship Winner

Emily Gutierrez was the victim of a head-on SUV crash that resulted in a severely broken arm, loss of her job, cracked ribs, and months of physical therapy. But she won’t let that distract her on a journey to become a doctor, which makes her 2020’s Mullen & Mullen Scholarship Award Winner.
Dallas, TX April 23, 2020 – While on a casual trip home from the mall, Emily Gutierrez and her mom decided to grab some food for her siblings. Unbeknownst to her, it would be a fateful one.

As she made a legal left turn, she was suddenly hit head-on by a negligent driver of a SUV. Her car spiraled out of control, landed on the opposite side of the street, and she was trapped inside. Fortunately, she was able to escape her car relatively quickly with the help of a kind stranger.

Emily instantly knew she had a broken arm, but […]

By |April 27th, 2020|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

Our Response to COVID-19

Our personal injury law firm is doing everything it can to help flatten the curve. We send our thoughts and prayers to all during these difficult and trying times.
We are open. Our law firm’s Attorneys, Assistants, Medical Records Clerks, and all other employees are working from home and are at the office in rotating shifts. Prior to the Coronavirus outbreak, we implemented cutting-edge online practice management software. While we are having to adjust, like all other businesses, we are pleased to report that we are operating at almost full capacity.

At Mullen & Mullen we are continuing to accept new cases. If you have been bodily injured due to the negligence of a third-party please call us locally at (214) 747-5240 or toll free at 1+800-371-8751 to discuss your situation or use the contact form or chat feature on our website. Our injury law firm offers Virtual Sign-Ups with documents easily […]

By |April 6th, 2020|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

What to Do If You are Injured at Work in Texas

Texas’ law doesn’t serve injured workers well. But, you can protect yourself. Here’s what you should do if you find yourself in a battle with your employer.
What should you do if you unfortunately suffer an injury at work?
1. Report Your Injury Immediately
Don’t delay one second, unless circumstances prevent you from doing so. You should even call your workplace from the emergency room, if you’re able (no joke).

If your employer does not carry workers’ comp (and Texas doesn’t require them to), they may have a plan that requires you to notify your workplace of your injury within 24 hours.

That is 100% serious. Such plans do exist. And obviously, they’re designed to not pay you for your injuries.

If your employer has workers’ comp, you have 30 days to report your injury. But still, you should report as fast as you can because that gives you the most credibility.
2. Get Witness Contact Info
Look, […]

By |April 1st, 2020|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

What Factors Show a Dog Owner Knows Their Dog is Vicious?

To win a dog attack lawsuit, you must show the owner knew or should have known their dog was dangerous. What facts can show that?
One of the top legal standards for proving liability for a dog bite in Texas includes showing the owner knew, or should have known, they own a vicious dog, but failed to take ordinary care to protect others.

Read another way, a dog can attack and maul you, but if the owner had no reason to expect that, they may not be legally liable for your injuries.

How do you show an owner should have known they have a vicious dog?

Here’s a list of things which may show just that:
The Owner Frequently Confines or Restrains Their Dog
Any type of frequent confinement may show the dog is known to be dangerous. This can include keeping the dog outside, on a chain, or in a kennel.

It can also include simply […]

By |November 12th, 2019|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

What Responsibilities Do Property Owners Have to Keep You Safe?

What does a property owner have to do to keep you safe? It depends. They may have a lot of responsibility, or not at all. Learn more in this article.
Despite how the media makes slip-and-fall cases sound, the law regarding them is actually quite reasonable.

It’s not like you can go from store-to-store all day long, looking for a dangerous condition, slip, fall, and collect a big payday.

The media presents stories that way and leaves out important facts to get you angry so you watch their story (and so they can then charge higher prices to companies who want to advertise on their station).

Texas’ premises liability law says both you and the property owner have responsibilities.

A property owner’s responsibility toward you depends on your status (licensee, invitee, trespasser) when you’re on their property.

Take a closer look at how this works practically:
Responsibility Toward Invitees
“Invitee” is the most common status when slip-and-fall cases […]

By |October 29th, 2019|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

What Should You Do If Attacked by a Dog?

While rare, vicious dog attacks happen. How can you prepare for one, or stop one if it’s happening to you? Learn exactly what to do.
Texas leads the nation in fatal dog attacks. While single dog bites happen commonly, full-out dog mauling doesn’t happen frequently.

So, what should you do if you do find yourself amid a dog attack?

Here’s how to handle that:
First, How Do You Know a Dog Will Attack?
You never truly know until they do. You know the obvious signs:

Growling
Lunging
Snarling
Backing up and baring teeth

But not all dogs do that before they attack. Some will freeze their entire body for a brief second.

It can be quite easy to miss the more subtle signs.
What Can You Do If a Dog Shows Aggressive Behavior?
You do have a chance to prevent an attack if you encounter an aggressive dog.

Here’s what to do and not do:

Don’t look a dog in […]

By |October 15th, 2019|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments

6 Common Texas Work Injury FAQs

Injured on the job? Avoid big mistakes and protect your rights by understanding these six questions and answers about work injuries in Texas.
The way Texas works with medical issues, you’d think it’s practically illegal to get hurt on the job.

While experiencing a serious injury at work certainly leads to a lot more stress than just your injury itself, you can alleviate some of the difficulty by knowing what to do.

So here’s some answers to common questions:
What Should I Do When Injured?
Report your injury to the designated person at your workplace immediately. Don’t wait one second.

If you have to go to the emergency room, call from the ER the moment you can.

If your employer won’t accept your report, but they do have workers’ comp, fax form 41 to the Texas Department of Insurance.

If you experience a minor injury that could turn into something big down the road, but you can work […]

By |October 1st, 2019|Categories: Personal Injury||0 Comments